top of page

Friday 25th September 2015 - Koh Thai

When people are selecting a restaurant at which to spend their evening, they may think about the quality of the food, the atmosphere, or perhaps the selection of cocktails. Koh Thai scores highly on all these aspects – the pomelo salad and thai yellow curry are absolutely to die for. Plus, the majority of tables are outside on a deliciously spacious balcony (rather out of character for Wanchai, but Hong Kong never ceases to amaze hey) so you can stuff your face under the stars. Concerned about HK’s bipolar weather? Don’t be. Koh Thai are prepared with lovely big parasols, so come rain or shine you can enjoy the great outdoors.

The thing which really sets this Thai restaurant apart from the rest, however, is the tiny stony buddhas who welcome you up the stairs. They hold teeny tiny candles in their little stone hands!

Yes, obviously I asked if I could take a buddha home. My request was (cruelly) denied, so now I’m scowering the internet. When I find a tiny candle holding buddha to call me own, you will all know about it. I am going to be flooding the internet with proud parent photos.

Koh Thai, 18 Ship Street, Wanchai

Blog Views

bottom of page