top of page

Saturday 7th March 2015 - Tuna Sandwich

Much like gradual tan moisturiser, a sandwich is something you take for granted in the UK. In fact, I remember thinking they were rather boring.

How wrong I was.

It turns out that sandwiches aren't considered a necessity in Tseung Kwan O. It took me three months to locate one in my area of residence. There are two vast shopping malls under my apartment, within which you can find pretty much anything bar a simple sandwich. If you’re looking for fish balls or bread with pork floss in the middle, you’re balling. (N.b. pork floss is just as disgusting as it sounds. It is meat shredded so finely, you could accidentally clean your teeth with it) However a tuna sandwich is far too exotic to make it onto the menu. Or dull. Who knows.

But then the glorious day came when my fellow teacher announced that, after two years of searching, she had found a café which served sandwiches. You wouldn’t believe the genuine excitement. We all went on a lunch date to see if it was really true. And do you know what, a tuna sandwich has never tasted so damn good.

Moral of the story – never take a sandwich for granted.

Blog Views

bottom of page