top of page

Tuesday 5th January 2016 - Island Fever

I'm back in the 852 everyone and, despite doing everything in jet-lagged slow motion, it is wonderful to be home. Quite hilariously, I found a scribbled page about homesickness in my bag. I think someone was feeling rather emotional about seeing her parentals and tiny friends. Read on:

(22nd December 2015)

I'm not a doctor like right now but I reckon the HK Federation of Doctors (100% a real thing) will approach me after reading this. I'll probably receive an honorary PHD or a trophy or something.

Basically, I've got Island Fever - aka. I-need-to-get-out-of-the-mad-bubble-that-is-HK-before-all-marbles-are-lost. To prove that this is a genuine condition, I have compiled a list of signs which indicate that you too are suffering from le fever d'island:

Symptoms

1. Weeping dramatically over non-tear worthy things - e.g. Zara not having your size in stock (it was a really nice dress though).

2. Feeling outrageously angry towards strangers who walk slowly/ stand on the wrong side of the escalator/ don't understand the concept of queueing, and doing a lot of stamping and sighing to ensure that they are fully aware of the steam tooting out of your ears.

3. Calling a parent but failing to say words and instead sobbing and intermittently wailing like a big Daddy walrus.

4. Sitting on the floor because you can't roll around in a distressed manner on the sofa.

5. Either going out until ridiculous o'clock or hitting the hay by half 8 because the time until you board your flight goes faster both ways.

Official Medication

A flight home, sharpish.

Personal Observations

Champagne helps.

Signed - Doctor Scarlett


Blog Views

bottom of page